Wahab Almuhtadi


Dr. Almuhtadi has over 25 years of university teaching experience, and over 31 years of industry R&D experience. He’s Professor and Coordinator of “Optical Systems and Sensors” Program, Algonquin College/Carleton University, Canada. He’s R&D Coordinator, Faculty of Technology and Trades. Previously, he worked at Nortel as Senior System Engineer, Optical Solutions R&D. With his strong professional background, he demonstrated outstanding leadership leading Algonquin College to become a Polytechnic Institution. He established Algonquin Applied Research with $10.5M fund from various Canadian agencies. He’s the founder of $6M cutting-edge Optophotonics Lab / Optical Communication Networks 200 Gbps, only lab of its kind in any educational institute. He’s one of the founders of Ontario “Centre of Excellence-in-Next-Generation-Networks-CENGN” with $65M funding. He published several technical papers and books. He received several recognition awards from IEEE, academia and industry, to name few: 2010 IEEE Leadership Award for Distinguished Leadership and Outstanding Contribution, 2013 IEEE Canada W.R. Service Award, 2009 Teaching Excellence-Algonquin College Laurent Isabelle Award-, NISOD Award-2006, and 2015 Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) Canadian Pacific Railway Medal. He’s P.Eng. and EIC Fellow. Over 264 years of service for Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), he has been actively engaged as a volunteer serving in several posts that he held throughout all IEEE levels. Currently, Dr. Almuhtadi is the IEEE President of IEEE Consumer Technology Society (CTSoc). He served as the Director, North America Region, IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc), IEEE ComSoc Member Services Board, ComSoc Online Contents Board, Chair, Publications and Communications Group-IEEE Canada- R7, He serves as Director, IEEE Canadian Foundation Committee, Chair, ComSoc/CESoc/BTS Ottawa Joint Chapter. He chaired and organized more than 29 conferences. He is the Executive Chair of the IEEE ICC 2025-Montreal, and he was the Executive Chair of IEEE ICC 2021-Montreal (Virtual) and IEEE ICC 2012-Ottawa.